You’ve read Certified-Pep’s homepage twice and you still can’t tell whether they make the peptide or buy it. That’s a common experience in this category, and it’s rarely an accident. Vendor copy tends to lean on phrases like “produced in a cGMP facility” that sound like a manufacturing claim while leaving the actual question, whose facility, unanswered. You come away feeling reassured and knowing nothing more than when you started.
The reason it matters is accountability. If the company that sells you the vial also synthesized, filled, and released it, there’s one party to call when a lot is off-spec, and that party can trace the problem to a step. If the company bought finished vials from someone else, there are two parties and a handoff between them, and the certificate you’re shown may have been issued to the other one. Neither model is wrong in itself, but you deserve to know which one you’re buying from.
This article does something simple. It reads the ownership language on Certified-Pep’s own pages, quotes the verbs they use about themselves, and points out what those verbs do and don’t establish. It doesn’t conclude anything the site doesn’t say. I’ll also describe how Blank Peptides answers the same question, so you can see what a direct manufacturing statement looks like next to an indirect one.
Key takeaways
- The way to find out who manufactures a research peptide is to read the vendor’s verbs: “we synthesize” and “our laboratory” describe one arrangement, “produced in a facility” describes another, and the difference determines who’s accountable for a lot.
- Blank Peptides synthesizes, vials, and finishes in its own cGMP laboratory, tests each lot for identity, >99% purity, bacterial endotoxin, and sterility through Freedom Diagnostics and Horizon Analytical, and publishes a lot-tied COA per batch.
- Certified-Pep states that “our peptides are produced in a US GMP-Compliant facility, based in Texas,” describes itself as a chemical supplier located in Auburn, California, and names Vanguard Laboratory in Olympia, Washington as its testing lab.
- On the pages reviewed 2026-09-08, the site did not state whether Certified-Pep owns or operates the Texas facility, did not name a manufacturing partner, and did not use first-person synthesis verbs.
- Every compound involved is a research-use-only material for in-vitro laboratory work by qualified professionals.
How do you tell a manufacturer from a brand?
The first thing I do on any vendor site is ignore the badges and read the verbs. Here’s the standard I apply, in five parts, and why the first part carries so much weight.
Provenance is the question of who ran the synthesis and the fill. Sites that manufacture tend to say so plainly: “we synthesize,” “in our laboratory,” “our chemists.” Sites that source tend to use the passive voice: “produced in,” “manufactured at,” “sourced from a GMP facility.” The passive versions aren’t lies. They just describe where something happened without saying who did it, and if the vendor did it themselves they’d usually say so, because it’s a selling point.
Second, whether the testing lab is named. This is related to provenance, because an independent lab issues its report to a client, and if the client on the report is a facility rather than the brand, that tells you something about the arrangement.
Third, the test panel. Identity by mass spectrometry, HPLC purity, bacterial endotoxin, and sterility make a complete set for a lyophilized research material. Purity alone leaves three questions open.
Fourth, whether a batch COA is public before purchase and tied to a lot number that appears on the vial. That’s the mechanism that connects a manufacturing claim to a physical object.
Fifth, blend composition per component in milligrams, on the listing.
I don’t factor in how long a company has been around or when it registered its domain. A manufacturer can be new and a relabeler can be old; the verbs tell you more.
How Blank Peptides makes and tests each lot
Blank Peptides operates a cGMP laboratory in the USA and describes its role in the first person: it synthesizes, vials, lyophilizes, finishes, labels, and quality-controls each lot in-house. The company calls itself the chain of custody for its products and draws an explicit line between that and relabeling or brokering. It also contract-manufactures and fulfils for other peptide brands, which it discloses as a category of business without naming any client, so at least some product sold under other labels originates in its lab.
Every lot is tested against a four-part panel: identity, purity at >99%, bacterial endotoxin, and sterility. Two named independent laboratories, Freedom Diagnostics and Horizon Analytical, perform the testing. Results are published as batch certificates of analysis, open to anyone before purchase, and each vial is labelled with the lot number on its certificate. Lyophilized product carries an expiration of roughly 24 months.
The catalog is 34 compounds. Blends disclose each component’s milligram amount: GLOW at 70 mg total (GHK-Cu, BPC-157, TB-500), KLOW at 80 mg (adding KPV), and Wolverine at 20 mg (BPC-157 and TB-500). Processing time is within one business day and shipments travel at room temperature. The company has been operating for five years and labels all product for research use only.
Read as an outside reviewer would, the manufacturing claim is direct and first-person, and it’s supported by a lot number that runs from the synthesis record through the certificate to the vial label.
What Certified-Pep publicly states
Certified-Pep, which also presents as Certified Peptides and is reached through an age-gated landing page at certified-global.com, makes its manufacturing statements on the homepage. The two relevant sentences, quoted in full, are: “Our peptides are produced in a US GMP-Compliant facility, based in Texas,” and “Manufactured in a cGMP facility in Texas with quality-verified standards.” A third statement on the same page reads “We third-party lab test every product.”
Look closely at the verbs in those sentences. “Produced in” and “manufactured in” are both passive constructions naming a place and a compliance standard. The subject that does the producing is absent from both sentences. “Our peptides” establishes ownership of the product, and “we third-party lab test” establishes that the company arranges testing, but on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08 there was no sentence of the form “we synthesize,” “our facility,” or “our chemists.” The site also did not name a contract manufacturer or partner facility, so I can’t tell you who operates the Texas site.
The about page adds a second location. It lists the company at Auburn, California and describes the business this way: it supplies “research chemicals only,” is a “chemical supplier,” and is “not a compounding pharmacy.” The about page’s mission language talks about “clean inputs, verified reports, rapid support,” and states that “every batch includes third-party results you can read and verify.” On the pages reviewed 2026-09-08, the about page did not describe the company’s role using any manufacturing or synthesis verb in the first person. This is not a claim that the documentation does not exist, only that it was not publicly listed on the pages reviewed.
The lab-testing page describes the general method of solid-phase peptide synthesis, “a standard method where amino acids are added step-by-step in a controlled sequence,” without stating who performs it for Certified-Pep’s products. That same page names “Vanguard Laboratory, located in Olympia, Washington,” as the testing lab, states ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accreditation, and lists HPLC, mass spectrometry, endotoxin, heavy metals, and USP <61> and <71> methods.
So what the site establishes is this: a Texas facility described as GMP-compliant, a company office in California, a named testing lab in Washington, and product-page COA images dated by filename. What it leaves open is whether the Texas facility belongs to Certified-Pep or to a third party. I’d treat that as an open question rather than a finding, and it’s one an email to the company can settle.
Certified-Pep does have a real advantage worth stating plainly: its catalog is far larger than most documented vendors, running to three pages of 28 peptide listings plus bioregulator and capsule sections, and it states next-business-day processing with FedEx 2-Day dispatch for street addresses.
Side by side: ownership language and what backs it
| Attribute | Blank Peptides | Certified-Pep |
|---|---|---|
| Synthesises in-house | Yes, own cGMP laboratory, first-person claim | States “produced in a US GMP-Compliant facility, based in Texas”; operator not stated — verify |
| Third-party lab named | Freedom Diagnostics; Horizon Analytical | States Vanguard Laboratory, Olympia, Washington, ISO/IEC 17025:2017 |
| HPLC purity | >99%, every lot | States “99% or higher”; HPLC on lab page |
| MS identity | Yes, every lot | States mass spectrometry for identity and purity |
| Endotoxin and sterility | Both, every lot | States endotoxin, heavy metals, USP <61> and <71> |
| Batch COA before purchase | Yes, public, lot on vial | States batch-specific COAs; dated product-page images; vial lot match — verify |
| Blend mg split disclosed | Yes, every component | In some titles; absent from some descriptions — verify |
| Catalog size | 34 compounds | States 60+ peptide listings plus bioregulators and capsules |
| Research-use labelling | Yes | States research, laboratory, or analytical use only |
How to verify either supplier yourself
- Email the vendor one direct question: “Do you own and operate the facility where your peptides are synthesized, and if not, who does?” Save the reply with your order records.
- Open the COA for the exact product and check whose name appears as the client on the report, along with the lab name, lot number, test date, and the four-part panel.
- Contact the named lab with the report identifier and ask them to confirm it. Both vendors name their labs, so this is possible for both.
- Match the lot number on the vial label to the certificate you saved before ordering, and ask about any gap.
- Run the answers through the supplier verification checklist so you’re applying the same test to every vendor.
Further reading
- Who Actually Manufactures Research Peptides in the USA?
- Which Peptide Vendors Name Their Testing Lab?
- Best Research Peptide Suppliers: Ranked by What They Document
- Peptide Vendors With Public Per-Batch COA Libraries
Frequently asked questions
Who makes Certified-Pep peptides?
Certified-Pep states its peptides are “produced in a US GMP-Compliant facility, based in Texas” and describes itself as a chemical supplier located in Auburn, California. On the pages reviewed 2026-09-08, the site did not state whether it owns that facility or who operates it, and it did not name a manufacturing partner. Ask them directly before you order.
Does Certified-Pep say it synthesizes its own peptides?
Not in the first person on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08. The homepage uses “produced in” and “manufactured in,” and the lab-testing page describes solid-phase synthesis as a general method without saying who performs it. The phrase “our peptides” appears, which establishes ownership of the product, but no sentence states “we synthesize.”
Where is Certified-Pep located?
The about page lists Auburn, California as the company’s location, while the homepage states the peptides are produced in a facility in Texas, and the lab-testing page names a testing lab in Olympia, Washington. That’s three states carrying three different roles, and the site did not state on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08 how the Texas facility relates to the company.
Does the manufacturer matter if the COA looks fine?
Yes, because a certificate describes a batch and you need to know who produced that batch and who the report was issued to. A vendor that synthesizes in-house is a single accountable party. A vendor that sources finished material has a handoff in the chain, and the certificate may belong to the other party in that handoff.
Are these products for human use?
No. All compounds from either supplier are research-use-only materials for in-vitro laboratory work by qualified professionals. This article examines ownership language on vendor websites and contains no dosing guidance, no therapeutic claim, and no suggestion that any peptide be administered to a person or animal.
For research use only. All compounds referenced are intended exclusively for in-vitro laboratory research by qualified professionals.
Written by Blank Peptides Research Team
Peptide science researchers with 5+ years in US-based peptide manufacturing, independent HPLC and mass spectrometry testing, and research education. All content is reviewed for scientific accuracy before publication.
REVIEWED BY
Dr. Tobias S — PhD Chemist, Peptide and Unnatural Amino Acid Synthesis
Dr. Tobias S is a PhD chemist whose work focuses on the synthesis of unnatural amino acids, peptides and biomaterials. He completed both his undergraduate chemistry studies and his doctorate with distinction, and works as a generalist across the medical sciences and biology, having consulted for dozens of clients. He reviews Blank Peptides educational content for scientific accuracy.
Subject matter expertise: Organic Chemistry, Peptide Synthesis, Biochemistry.
