Uncategorized

Phoenix Peptide vs PSPeptides: A Documentation Comparison

10 min read

If you’ve spent an evening trying to decide between two research peptide suppliers you’ve never ordered from, you’ll recognise the feeling that the websites are answering a different question from the one you’re asking. You want to know whether the vial will contain the sequence on the label at roughly the stated amount. The sites want to tell you about their commitment to quality. Those two things overlap less than they should.

I write for Blank Peptides, and neither Phoenix Peptide nor PSPeptides is us, so this is a comparison I have no result riding on. That’s the reason to write it. I’ll fix five questions in advance, apply them to both companies in the same order, and report what each site publicly stated on 2026-09-08. Where one company answers a row that the other leaves open, I’ll say which, and where a company does something better than the market norm, that gets said too.

One limit worth stating early. This is a reading of published documentation and nothing more. I haven’t ordered from either supplier, nobody’s material has been independently analysed for this piece, and no conclusion here should be stretched into a claim about product quality.

Key takeaways

  • Comparing two unfamiliar vendors works best on evidence they publish before purchase: synthesis versus sourcing, whether the testing lab is named, how many assays run per batch, whether certificates are lot-keyed and openly readable, and whether blends disclose milligrams per component.
  • The five rows applied here are the specification Blank Peptides publishes its own lot certificates against, named openly so the standard can be judged rather than assumed.
  • Phoenix Peptide (phoenixpeptide.com, presented on the site as Phoenix Pharmaceuticals, Inc.) states “All production is done in-house in the USA” from a stated Burlingame, California lab, cites “Guaranteed Purity of up to >95%”, and lists custom synthesis, antibody production and assay kits alongside catalog peptides.
  • PSPeptides states that “Every peptide is verified through HPLC and Mass Spectrometry testing by independent, accredited laboratories” and publishes a downloadable certificate archive that lists heavy metals, endotoxin and sterility reports per product; neither company named its testing laboratory on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08.
  • Compounds from both suppliers are intended for in-vitro laboratory research by qualified professionals, with no bearing on human or animal use.

What separates two suppliers you can only judge on paper?

The rubric goes down before either name is examined, which is the only way to stop the criteria bending toward whichever company you happened to like the look of.

Provenance is the first row. Does the company state that it synthesizes the peptide, or does it describe getting it finished from a partner? Read the verbs on the about page rather than the adjectives on the homepage. Production reads as “we synthesize”, “our facility”, “our QC”. Distribution reads as “we work with”, “sourced from”, “our partners”. Both are real business models, and the reason to know which applies is that it tells you who can actually answer a question about a bad lot.

Second, is the laboratory named? Almost everyone in this market says their product is independently tested, and very few will say by whom. A name turns a claim into something you can check without the vendor’s cooperation, which is precisely why naming one costs a company something.

Third, how much of the panel runs? Purity by HPLC covers the proportion of the sample under the main peak. Mass spectrometry covers identity by confirming the mass. Endotoxin covers bacterial breakdown products, and sterility covers viable growth. Purity alone is a common and perfectly honest thing to report, as long as nobody dresses it up as a full record.

Fourth, is a certificate readable before you pay, and is it tied to a lot number that will appear on the vial? Without that link, you have a document about somebody’s material rather than about yours.

Fifth, for blends, are milligrams stated per component? A blend sold by total weight can’t be reconstituted to a known concentration for any single compound in it, and company age stays off the list, since it describes nothing about a batch.

The standard used in this comparison

These rows are the specification Blank Peptides publishes its own lot certificates against, in a public library of batch certificates of analysis. I’m naming that source because a comparison written by someone in the same market should disclose where its yardstick came from, and because a standard carries more weight when its author already submits to it. That’s the whole of the connection, and the rest of this piece is about Phoenix Peptide and PSPeptides.

What Phoenix Peptide publicly states

Phoenix Peptide runs phoenixpeptide.com and presents itself on the site as Phoenix Pharmaceuticals, Inc. The site is structured like a chemistry services supplier, and its published record follows from that.

On provenance, the statements are among the most direct you’ll find anywhere in this market. The about page states “All production is done in-house in the USA.” The product categories page states “Chemically synthesized research peptides manufactured 100% in the USA” and that “All products made at our facilities in Burlingame, CA.” The homepage states “We manufacture Research Peptides, Antibodies, and Assay Kits.” The company publishes a physical address at 330 Beach Road, Burlingame, CA 94010, describes itself as “a small team of 20 people”, and states on its custom synthesis page that “Dr. Chang and his lab team have over 55 years experience synthesizing peptides.”

On testing, the about page states “Guaranteed Purity of up to >95%” and the custom synthesis page states “Purity > 98%.” The peptides catalog page states that “Our peptides undergo rigorous quality control and testing to ensure the highest purity standards” without naming a method. A named third-party laboratory was not listed on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08, mass spectrometry, endotoxin and sterility results were not listed, and no lot-specific certificate was visible on the pages that loaded.

That last row deserves a qualification rather than a black mark. Several areas of phoenixpeptide.com returned a 403 access error during the review, including the services page, the shipping and returns page and a topics page, so product-level data sheets could sit behind them. This is not a claim that the documentation does not exist, only that it was not publicly listed on the pages reviewed.

The company’s clearest advantage is what it can do rather than what it publishes. Catalog peptides, custom peptide synthesis, antibody production and assay kits all appear as stated services, with custom orders quoted at “2-3 weeks” typical delivery. If your work needs a sequence made to order or an immunoassay matched to it, that capability outweighs any single documentation row in this article.

What PSPeptides publicly states

PSPeptides trades at pspeptides.com, and it’s the more forthcoming of the two on analytical documentation.

On provenance, the about page states that “All our peptides are manufactured in the United States and shipped from US facilities with same-day processing”, and describes “over 5 years in business and a dedicated 25-person team based in New Jersey.” A statement identifying the entity that performs the synthesis, or describing a facility the company operates itself, was not listed on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08. The country of manufacture is answered and the operator is left open.

On testing, the about page states that “Every peptide is verified through HPLC and Mass Spectrometry testing by independent, accredited laboratories”, and that “Certificates of Analysis are available for every product”, adding that the company never self-certifies and that “all testing is done by third-party labs.” The site states a “99%+ purity” standard, with a stated remedy that “If any peptide doesn’t meet our 99%+ purity standard, we’ll replace it free of charge.” The certifications page states that “High-Performance Liquid Chromatography testing on every batch to verify peptide identity and purity” and that “Mass Spec analysis confirms the molecular weight and structural integrity.”

On certificate access, PSPeptides earns the strongest concession in this comparison and I’ll give it plainly. Its certifications page states “View and download the full third-party lab reports for our peptides”, listing dated batch reports with their own reference identifiers, and stating for each product a set of “Third-party Certificate of Analysis, Heavy Metals, Endotoxin, and Sterility reports.” Open access to separate endotoxin and sterility documents, with no account and no purchase required, puts the company ahead of most of the market on the rows that are hardest to bluff. The laboratory itself was not named, with the page stating only that “All testing is performed by independent, accredited laboratories.”

On catalog and shipping, a total catalog count was not stated on the pages reviewed, and blend composition per component was not listed on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08. Shipping is stated as same-day dispatch before 2PM EST, free UPS 2nd Day Air above $200, and delivery to the US and its territories plus Canada, the EU, the UK and Australia.

Side by side: manufacturing statements and analytical documentation

Attribute Phoenix Peptide PSPeptides
Synthesises in-house States “All production is done in-house in the USA” at a stated Burlingame, CA address States peptides are “manufactured in the United States and shipped from US facilities”; operator not named — verify
Third-party lab named Not listed on pages reviewed 2026-09-08; several pages returned 403 — verify States “independent, accredited laboratories”; name not listed — verify
HPLC purity States “Guaranteed Purity of up to >95%”; method not listed — verify States HPLC testing “on every batch” against a “99%+ purity” standard
MS identity Not listed on pages reviewed 2026-09-08 — verify States “Mass Spec analysis confirms the molecular weight and structural integrity”
Endotoxin and sterility Not listed on pages reviewed 2026-09-08 — verify States separate “Heavy Metals, Endotoxin, and Sterility reports” per product
Batch COA before purchase Not listed on pages reviewed 2026-09-08 — verify States dated batch reports are viewable and downloadable with no request needed
Blend mg split disclosed No blends listed on pages reviewed 2026-09-08 — verify Not listed on pages reviewed 2026-09-08 — verify
Catalog size States peptides, antibodies, assay kits and custom synthesis; count not stated — verify Count not stated; site states “10K+ Orders Shipped” — verify
Research-use labelling States research and drug development use; explicit RUO wording not listed — verify Research-use wording not listed on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08 — verify

How to verify either supplier yourself

  • Download a batch report where one is offered and read the header first. An issuing laboratory, a batch reference and a test date need to appear together, since any one on its own proves very little.
  • Where a company publishes separate endotoxin or sterility documents, check that each carries a method and a numeric result rather than a pass marking with nothing behind it.
  • Ask both companies in writing which laboratory performed the analysis on a named lot. A specific answer is easy for a company that has one, and the response time itself is informative.
  • Retry any page returning an access error from a different network or device before recording it as missing documentation, because a 403 describes a server rather than a company.
  • Fill in the supplier verification checklist for both, so you end up with two completed columns instead of a general impression.

Further reading

Frequently asked questions

How do Phoenix Peptide and PSPeptides compare?

On pages reviewed 2026-09-08, PSPeptides publishes considerably more analytical documentation, stating HPLC and mass spectrometry verification by outside laboratories plus separate heavy metals, endotoxin and sterility reports available to download. Phoenix Peptide answers the manufacturing question more directly with stated in-house US production at a physical address, and offers custom synthesis, antibodies and assay kits that PSPeptides does not list.

Does PSPeptides name the laboratory that tests its batches?

No. On the pages reviewed 2026-09-08 the company states repeatedly that testing is performed by “independent, accredited laboratories” and that it never self-certifies, without publishing a laboratory name. The certificates themselves may carry one, so downloading a report for the compound you want and reading its header is the practical way to check.

Which company gives more open access to certificates?

PSPeptides, on the evidence reviewed 2026-09-08. Its certifications page states that full third-party lab reports can be viewed and downloaded, listing dated batch reports with reference identifiers. Phoenix Peptide did not list a viewable certificate on the pages that loaded, though several of its pages returned access errors during the review rather than displaying an empty archive.

Does a purity guarantee replace a certificate?

Not really. A guarantee is a commercial promise about what happens if material falls short, and a certificate is a record of what was measured on a specific batch. The two are useful together, since the guarantee gives you a remedy while the certificate gives you the evidence you’d need to invoke it.

Are these products for human use?

No. Compounds from either supplier discussed in this article are sold strictly for in-vitro laboratory research by qualified professionals. Nothing here is medical advice, and comparing published documentation speaks to research reliability rather than to any suitability for administration to humans or animals.

For research use only. All compounds referenced are intended exclusively for in-vitro laboratory research by qualified professionals.


Written by Blank Peptides Research Team

Peptide science researchers with 5+ years in US-based peptide manufacturing, independent HPLC and mass spectrometry testing, and research education. All content is reviewed for scientific accuracy before publication.

REVIEWED BY

Dr. Tobias S — PhD Chemist, Peptide and Unnatural Amino Acid Synthesis

Dr. Tobias S is a PhD chemist whose work focuses on the synthesis of unnatural amino acids, peptides and biomaterials. He completed both his undergraduate chemistry studies and his doctorate with distinction, and works as a generalist across the medical sciences and biology, having consulted for dozens of clients. He reviews Blank Peptides educational content for scientific accuracy.

Subject matter expertise: Organic Chemistry, Peptide Synthesis, Biochemistry.

Research Disclaimer

All products referenced in this article are for research use only. Not for human consumption. Statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. Products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Discover more from Blank Peptides

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading