There’s a specific kind of tired that comes from reading peptide vendor sites back to back. Everybody synthesises in America, everybody clears 99% purity, everybody is third-party tested, and after the fourth or fifth site the copy blurs into one long paragraph that could belong to any of them. The differences are real, but they’re not in the places the sites spend their design budget.
They’re in the documents. Whether a certificate names the laboratory that ran the assay. Whether it reports two tests or four. Whether you can read it before you pay or only afterwards. Whether a blend listing gives you milligrams per peptide or a single total that leaves the ratio up to you. Five checks, and they take about as long as reading the homepage would have.
This piece applies those checks to Biotech Peptides and Ascend Bio Labs, using only what each site publicly stated on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08. I’ve got no commercial relationship with either and I’m not nudging you toward one. These two split the scorecard in an interesting way, and the split is worth understanding before you pick.
Key takeaways
- Two storefronts are best compared on what a buyer can open before purchase: provenance language, a named laboratory, panel scope, certificate timing, and blend composition per component.
- Biotech Peptides states its peptides are domestically synthesised by its own US-based team, verified by HPLC-MS to >99% purity, with lot-numbered certificates linked on product pages and a catalog of 89 products.
- Ascend Bio Labs states “third-party HPLC + LC-MS, endotoxin, and heavy metal testing on every batch,” a 38-compound catalog, and that every vial carries a batch ID linking to its certificate.
- On the pages reviewed 2026-09-08, neither vendor named its testing laboratory on the site itself, neither stated milligrams per blend component, and neither listed sterility results.
- Everything referenced here is a research-use-only material for in-vitro laboratory work by qualified professionals.
Which five checks separate two peptide vendors?
The rubric first, with no names attached to it yet, and all five questions are answerable without contacting anybody.
Provenance is where to start, so read the about page for verbs rather than adjectives. A company saying it synthesises and lyophilises is describing production it claims to run. A company saying its products are synthesised and shipped from the United States is describing origin and logistics, which is useful and different. The distinction matters because the chain of custody for a lot is only as traceable as the number of hands it passed through.
The lab name is second. Third-party testing means an independent party ran the assay, and independence you can’t verify is just a word on a page. Once a lab has a name you can look it up, check what it’s accredited for, and see whether the certificate matches the format that lab actually issues. Check the copy and check the PDF, because vendors are frequently vague in one and specific in the other.
Panel scope is third. Purity by HPLC and identity by mass spectrometry are the two most sites publish. Bacterial endotoxin is a third assay and sterility a fourth, and some vendors add heavy metals or residual solvents on top. More assays isn’t automatically better for every application, but knowing exactly which ones ran is better than assuming.
Timing is fourth. A certificate readable before checkout can change what you buy. A certificate that lands in your account after the order ships is a record for your files. Vendors sometimes describe both situations on different pages of the same site, which is worth catching.
Blend composition is fifth. Three peptides in a vial and one total mass on the page means you don’t know the ratio, and the ratio is most of what defines the product. Total-only listings are a question to ask, not a reason to walk away.
Age of the company and age of the domain are absent on purpose. They don’t describe the vial.
The standard this comparison is measured against
For transparency about the source of the bar: these five checks are the ones Blank Peptides publishes its own production lots against, with per-lot batch certificates of analysis covering identity, purity, bacterial endotoxin and sterility. Blank Peptides isn’t a party to this comparison and isn’t being suggested as an alternative to either vendor. It’s cited only so the rubric reads as a standard somebody meets in practice.
What Biotech Peptides and Ascend Bio Labs publicly state
Everything below is taken from each company’s own pages, reviewed 2026-09-08, and reported as what those pages state.
Biotech Peptides states on its homepage that “peptides are domestically synthesized, backed by our knowledgeable US-based team,” and its about page states that “based in the United States, our team specializes in the precise synthesis and lyophilization of these delicate structures.” On testing, the homepage states that “our production is verified by HPLC-MS to confirm >99% purity” and that “every batch is verified by a third-party lab, with results posted on our website,” with the about page listing methods as “HPLC (High-Performance Liquid Chromatography), Mass Spectrometry, and Certificate of Analysis (COA) evaluations.” No laboratory was named in site prose on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08, though the certificate linked from the 70mg blend page (lot 3141011, dated 2026-07-26) is issued by MZ Biolabs and reports HPLC-UV purity of 99.56% with mass spectrometry identity confirmation. Those certificates sit on product pages before purchase with lot numbers in the filenames. The catalog page shows 89 products including at least eight blends, which is more than twice what Ascend Bio Labs lists, and that breadth is a real advantage when your work needs an uncommon compound. Blend pages state total content without per-component milligrams, and no endotoxin or sterility results appeared on any page or certificate reviewed 2026-09-08. Shipping terms state orders “must be placed by 1 pm PST” for same-day dispatch and that returns are not accepted.
Ascend Bio Labs states on its homepage that products are “synthesized, tested, and shipped entirely from the United States.” On testing, the homepage states “third-party HPLC + LC-MS, endotoxin, and heavy metal testing on every batch,” alongside “99.3% Avg. verified purity” and a “99%+ minimum purity standard.” That stated panel is wider than most in this segment and wider than what Biotech Peptides lists, and the inclusion of heavy metals is unusual enough to count as a genuine advantage. On certificates, the homepage states “every vial carries a unique batch ID linking to its public COA” and that “the COA is stamped with the batch number, test date, and lab name and uploaded to the product page before any vial from that lot ships,” while the product page reviewed stated that “the matching certificate of analysis is available on this page and in your account downloads after purchase” and listed only HPLC and LC-MS as the methods. Those two descriptions of when and what you can read don’t quite line up, which is worth resolving before ordering. No laboratory was named on any page reviewed 2026-09-08; the site states the lab name appears on the certificate itself. The catalog is described as “38+ compounds,” and the blends listed, including a 20mg Wolverine blend and a 10mg GLOW blend, did not state milligrams per component. Shipping terms state “orders before 2pm CT ship same day” with delivery described as “insulated, tracked, signature-on-delivery,” and insulated signature-required shipping is another point in its favour.
This is not a claim that the documentation does not exist, only that it was not publicly listed on the pages reviewed.
Side by side: provenance, panel scope, and certificate access
| Attribute | Biotech Peptides | Ascend Bio Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Synthesises in-house | States peptides are “domestically synthesized” by its own US-based team — verify | States products are “synthesized, tested, and shipped entirely from the United States” — verify |
| Third-party lab named | Not named in site prose; MZ Biolabs appears on a linked COA — verify | Not named on any page reviewed 2026-09-08; states the lab name appears on the COA — verify |
| HPLC purity | States HPLC-MS confirms >99% purity; 99.56% on the COA examined | States “99%+ minimum purity standard” and “99.3% Avg. verified purity” — verify |
| MS identity | States mass spectrometry is used; MS identity shown on the COA examined | States independent LC-MS for identity on every batch — verify |
| Endotoxin and sterility | Not listed on the pages or COA reviewed 2026-09-08 — verify | States endotoxin and heavy metal testing on every batch; sterility not listed 2026-09-08 — verify |
| Batch COA before purchase | Lot-numbered certificates linked on product pages before purchase | States COAs are uploaded before a lot ships; product page states they are available after purchase — verify |
| Blend mg split disclosed | Not stated on the blend page reviewed 2026-09-08; peak-area percentages on COA — verify | Not stated on the blend or bundle pages reviewed 2026-09-08 — verify |
| Catalog size | States 89 products including at least eight blends | States “38+ compounds in catalog” |
| Research-use labelling | States research, laboratory or analytical purposes only; 21+ researchers | States products are “sold for laboratory research use only” |
The honest reading is that each one wins something you might care about more. Ascend Bio Labs claims a broader assay panel, and endotoxin plus heavy metals on every batch is meaningfully more than purity and identity alone. Biotech Peptides has the larger catalog and a certificate you can demonstrably open on a product page before paying, where Ascend Bio Labs’ own pages describe pre-purchase and post-purchase access in different words. Neither states a blend split, so on that row you’d be emailing both.
How to verify either supplier yourself
- Open a certificate from each and read the header. An issuing laboratory, a lot number, a test date, and each method paired with its result is the minimum for a document to be worth anything.
- Count the assays actually reported on the certificate rather than the ones listed on the homepage. Marketing copy and certificate contents drift apart more often than you’d like, and the certificate is the record.
- Where a site describes certificate timing two different ways, ask which is current. “Uploaded before the lot ships” and “available in your account after purchase” describe different experiences, and support can settle it in one email.
- Ask both for milligrams per component on any blend you’re considering, and keep the written reply with your lab records.
- Run both through the supplier verification checklist and repeat the check whenever either site changes.
Further reading
- Which Peptide Vendors Name Their Testing Lab?
- Peptide Vendors With Public Per-Batch COA Libraries
- Which Peptide Vendors Disclose Blend Composition?
- Best Research Peptide Suppliers: Ranked by What They Document
Frequently asked questions
How do Biotech Peptides vs Ascend Bio Labs compare on testing?
Ascend Bio Labs states a wider panel, listing “third-party HPLC + LC-MS, endotoxin, and heavy metal testing on every batch,” while Biotech Peptides states HPLC-MS verification to >99% purity with no endotoxin or sterility results on the pages or certificate reviewed 2026-09-08. Biotech Peptides has the clearer pre-purchase certificate access on product pages, with lot numbers in the filenames.
Does either vendor name its testing laboratory?
Not on the site itself, on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08. Ascend Bio Labs states that the certificate is “stamped with the batch number, test date, and lab name,” which puts the name in the document rather than the copy. Biotech Peptides refers to “a third-party lab” without naming it, though MZ Biolabs appears on a certificate linked from one of its product pages.
Can I see a certificate before I buy?
With Biotech Peptides, yes on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08, since lot-numbered certificate files are linked directly on product pages. Ascend Bio Labs states on its homepage that certificates are uploaded to the product page before a lot ships, while the product page reviewed states they are available in account downloads after purchase. Those two statements differ, so confirm before ordering.
Do either of them tell you what’s in a blend?
Neither did on the pages reviewed 2026-09-08. Ascend Bio Labs lists blends by total mass, including a 20mg Wolverine blend and a 10mg GLOW blend, without per-component figures. Biotech Peptides lists total vial content too, and its linked certificate shows HPLC peak-area percentages per peptide, which hints at a ratio without declaring a mass for each component.
Are these products for human use?
No. Both companies label their products for laboratory research. Biotech Peptides states products are sold “for research, laboratory, or analytical purposes only, and are not for human consumption.” Ascend Bio Labs states products are “sold for laboratory research use only” and “not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.” Nothing here is dosing, clinical or therapeutic guidance.
For research use only. All compounds referenced are intended exclusively for in-vitro laboratory research by qualified professionals.
Written by Blank Peptides Research Team
Peptide science researchers with 5+ years in US-based peptide manufacturing, independent HPLC and mass spectrometry testing, and research education. All content is reviewed for scientific accuracy before publication.
REVIEWED BY
Dr. Tobias S — PhD Chemist, Peptide and Unnatural Amino Acid Synthesis
Dr. Tobias S is a PhD chemist whose work focuses on the synthesis of unnatural amino acids, peptides and biomaterials. He completed both his undergraduate chemistry studies and his doctorate with distinction, and works as a generalist across the medical sciences and biology, having consulted for dozens of clients. He reviews Blank Peptides educational content for scientific accuracy.
Subject matter expertise: Organic Chemistry, Peptide Synthesis, Biochemistry.
